Contact Us

George E. Higgs Building

117 University Dr.

P.O. Box 3427

Prairie View, TX 77446

Epsilon Tau Lambda, Prairie View, TX
Epsilon Tau Lambda, Prairie View, TX

City of Prairie View Recognizes Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. Epsilon Tau Lambda Chapter

Whereas the Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., was founded at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York on December 4, 1906 and has since expanded to more than 2,000 chapters throughout the world and nation, including the City of Prairie View, Texas, and


Whereas, the Epsilon Tau Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. was chartered on November 7, 1952, when the members established and operated a chapter of the fraternity in the Prairie View community; and


Whereas the chapter is celebrating the 60th Anniversary and leadership and passion of the charter members Sammie Davis, Thomas P. Dooley, James E. Ellison, Edward B. Evans, Augustus M. Glenn, Lee B. James, Herman T. Jones, Harold E. Mazyck Jr., James E. Nix, Emery R. Owens, Lee E. Perkins, Alfred N. Poindexter, James A. Randal, John R. Ross, William A. Samuel, L. E. Scott, Thomas R. Solomon, Wendal D. Swindall, Alvin I. Thomas, Harvey R. Turner, John C. Williams, Curtis A. Wood and George R. Woolfolk, Charter members of the Epsilon Tau Lambda Chapter; and


Whereas as part of the national fraternity and its response to serving the communities the chapter commitment is shown with national programs such as Boy Scouts, Big Brothers, Big Sisters, March of Dimes, Go to High School, Go to College, A Voteless People is a Hopeless People and the Brothers’ Keeper Program, which has enriched our community, the county, the state and the nation, and

Whereas the Epsilon Tau Lambda Chapter recognizes the freedom of participating in activities and programs to create a better quality of life for our community, the members have committed themselves to engage in dialogue and common cause with the community with a shared vision of peace and justice for all, and


Whereas, the members are committed to the ideals and motto of the fraternity: First of All, Servants of All and we shall Transcend All, as evidenced in the membership’s involvement in various areas of the community, and


Whereas several members of Epsilon Tau Lambda Chapter have provided leadership in the City, namely Edward B. Evans and Alvin I. Thomas (PVAMU presidents), Jacob Boyer, Tyrone Davis, Simeon Queen, Brian Rowland and Herbert Thomas (council members), Jiles P. Daniels, Raymond Carreathers and Frank D. Jackson (mayors) and George E. Higgs (civic and social leaders), teachers and businessmen, therefore


BE IT RESOLVED that the Council of the City of Prairie View, meeting in regular session, hereby proclaim November 7, 2012 as Epsilon Tau Lambda Chapter, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc Day in the City of Prairie View and cause the signature of Mayor Frank D. Jackson to be affixed.

Print Print | Sitemap
© brain